Focusing GEM data

Hi,
I am new to Mantid and have a problem focusing raw data collected at GEM. The script I used in the past was something like:

from SET_env_scripts2_gem import *
expt=CRY_ini.files(“GEM”,RawDir=“x:/cycle_/”)
CRY_focus.FocusAll(expt, “78000”)

This used to work ok at ISIS but never worked on my MAC. Could you please let me know what I need to do. The information on the Mantid website are overwhelming and it would be greatly appreciated if you assume no background in this area.

Just wish to add that the Module script2 cannot be found anywhere which I think is needed to run the python code above, at least as per the earlier versions of Mantid!

Kind Regards

Dear totscat,

That script seems to use the old versions of the powder diffraction scripts. These used to work only
at ISIS because they import some files directly from the ISIS network drives. They haven’t been supported in recent versions of Mantid for several years, so they can be used only on some machines that still use fairly old Mantid versions. Also, you need a “.pref” file to set up a number of parameters.

In the latest release the scripts are included with Mantid, and in principle they should work anywhere. With Mantid 3.6 the way you use the powder diffraction scripts has changed slightly. You need to do something like:
import cry_ini import cry_focus DIR = "C:\MantidPowder" # here you'd put your "X:/cycle_/", etc. expt = cry_ini.Files('GEM', RawDir=DIR, inputInstDir=DIR) expt.initialize('Cycle_15_2', user='Mantid_tester', prefFile='UserPrefFile_15_2.pref') cry_focus.focus_all(expt, "79514")