From angles to UB-Matrix / adding a peak via angles

Hallo everybody,

I’m new to Mantid, and I want to do the following:
I have neutron single crystal data with possibly wrong UB-Matrix. I want to use the function FindUBUsingFFT in order to determine the UB-Matrix from the angular positions of the peaks.
So far I can create a Workspace and add peaks like this:

from mantid.simpleapi import *
from mantid.kernel import *

sampleWs = CreateSampleWorkspace()
ws = CreatePeaksWorkspace(InstrumentWorkspace = sampleWs, NumberOfPeaks = 0)
qlab = V3D(1.23, 3.45, 2.22)
p = ws.createPeak(qlab)
ws.addPeak(p)

What I still need to do is converting the angles (four circle Eulerian cradle) to the reciprocal lab system. However, in the Mantid documentation I don’t find the exact definition of qlab.
Is there even a handy function that converts the angles to the reciprocal vector?

Best
Tobias

Hi Tobias,
a detailed description of the Q in the lab frame is given in documents/UBMatriximplementationnotes.pdf at master · mantidproject/documents · GitHub, in the conventions section (page 2). The Q in the lab frame depends only on the position of the detector, not the goniometer. The link between Qlab and (hkl) is given by equation 5, Qlab=2 Pi R UB (hkl), where R is the goniometer rotation matrix. Please consult the documentation of SetGoniometer algorithm in order to construct your rotation matrix.
For example, if we rotate 30 degrees around the vertical axis (y) we can get R like:
sampleWs = CreateSampleWorkspace() SetGoniometer(sampleWs,Axis0="30,0,1,0,1") print sampleWs.run().getGoniometer().getR()
which yields:

[[ 0.8660254 0. 0.5 ] [ 0. 1. 0. ] [-0.5 0. 0.8660254]]

You then get Qsample=Qlab*R^(-1)

Andrei

Hi Andrei,

thanks a lot, I think now I got it.
However, I’m still confused with the rotation direction.
I thought, viewing against the z-axis gives the rotation-direction in the xy-plane, like it is in 2 dimensions (I hope, you can perceive the diagonal rotation-arrow):